2017 Volunteer Award Recipients



The Libertarian Party of Ohio has thousands of liberty volunteers.  We thank everyone for helping in any way they can but each year take the time to recognize a few of the many hardest working friends of the Party. 

This year the awards were announced at the 2017 LPO Conference. Please join us in thanking all the volunteers, but especially these folks.


New Member Spirit Award

Janis-award_250.jpgJanis Smyth, as a member of the Central Committee, stepped up on the Audit Committee to help improve reporting processes and controls and has been a valuable contributor to the IT team with graphics as well as a re-design of the Web Site that is still in the works. It rare and refreshing to see a new member actively jump in to help Team Liberty.

Local Grass Roots Award

The base of our Party Strength are all the local volunteers working in each county to advance freedom.  With so many options to consider, the selection committee decided that two volunteers stood out.


Aarica Burwell not only serves on the Central Committee but also as the Coordinator for a very active County Development Group in Muskingum.  Her unique "outside the box" thinking will be applied to an exciting fundraising event this summer and has gotten her a seat on the strategy team that will guide party priorities going forward.

brandon_250.jpgBrandon Bobbitt brings to bear a high energy positive attitude for the Lorain County Libertarians in Northeast Ohio. His team is carrying the Liberty Torch to the County Commissioners who are trying to railroad a tax package through after the citizens overwhelmingly voted against it. We should all support their Repeal, Replace, Restore initiative as a great example of how important our local organizations can be at protecting Ohioans.

Petition Powerhouse Award


Dustin Nanna works tirelessly as our Communications Director, and somehow finds the time to spend hours every week validating thousands of Ballot Access petitions.  On top of all this work he is also running for the City Council of Delaware. We encourage everyone to help with his efforts in any way possible.   

Volunteer Award


Tricia Sprankle is not only a member of our legal team but is also the Director of our Political Division which is responsible or candidate recruitment. Also know as the "Petition Princess," she's a tiger when it comes to Ballot Access.


Impact Award

tsmyth-award_250.jpgTim Smyth, is a Central Committee member, who served on the Bylaws Review Sub Committee that has meet twenty-two times in over a twenty-four week period. He was elected to one of the three At Large seats on the Executive Committee




Excellence Award


Michelle MacCutcheon is one of the most important leaders of Ohio's Liberty. Her mission is to personally reach out to every new member;  most of us can't remember a time when she wasn't active. We couldn't ask for a sharper or friendlier first impression than that made by our Membership Director.  There is no job too small for Michelle to pitch in, be it passing out literature or petitioning be it at the County, Regional and State level. Yet somehow, she has managed the time to play a leading role in the development of The Feldman Foundation which promotes Liberty minded candidates